WARNING: This will be long so turn back now if you are not interested, but this is really important to me and need some help.Hello everyone, I'm 17 and an owner of a '94 acura integra and been looking into buying my 2nd car and was thinking of an eclipse. I'm a car enthusiast and I'm into highly modified cars, as I was exploring through ebay (I don't usually search through that site for cars) I see a highly modified '99 eclipse gsx for such a low price of $4,800! this is the site:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAP...:MEWA:IT&ih=002I don't know why but he took sale down but I have been contacting him over email about it. I am very cautious in what I buy so I read over the description of the car (scroll down), and notice he doesn't include all the modifications the car has. For example, I see four LCD screens and a turbo in his engine which he doesn't add in his description, he can strip those and the interior for all I know. I talked with my cousin about it since he knows more about cars than I do and he said there is no way the deal could be real.
I don't know for sure I would like to think it is but I can't say, I don't have enough proof to judge. I never use ebay so I don't know how trustworthy it really is, so this is when I start contacting the guy over email for more information, this is where I got so far (this is a pretty long conversation but it is important to read please).
READ FROM BOTTOM TO TOP!>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Kevin, Like I said before the car will be shipped from Lisboa,Portugal and I pay for shipping and delivery charges and you will receive the car at your door in max 12 days.If you wish to purchase it please provide me your full name and your complete address so I can initiate the deal through eBay. Also, let me know if there's something else you need to know.
Regards, Stanley
---------------------------------------
On 7/13/08, Kevin <******@yahoo.com> wrote:
Thanks again for replying, I'm going to talk this over with my parents soon about the car and hopefully I will be able to purchase it, and yeah it'd be great if I would be able to inspect the car before I buy it, that will be a lot better for me makes me feel more safe before actually buying it without seeing it. So you're saying you'd be able to ship it here to my house for free so I can inspect and if I like it I can buy it like that? I will reply back asap maybe later today about the situation.
thank you again,
- Kevin
--- On Sun, 7/13/08, Stanley <******@gmail.com> wrote:
From: Stanley <******@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: Your Eclipse
To: ******@yahoo.com
Date: Sunday, July 13, 2008, 6:36 AM
Hello again Kevin,
I'm very glad to hear that you are still interested in buying my car.The car is still available for sale and the price is $4,800US.The car has nothing wrong. Works great, all maintenance was done on time, no smoking, no accidents, no leaks, no rust. All papers and the clear title are available and will be shipped with the car. All filters and freon were replaced and recharged so yes the AC blows cold. Oil changed, transmission fluid too, it shifts like new. Great handling, engine runs perfect and clean.Like I said before the car will be shipped from Lisboa,Portugal and I pay for shipping and delivery charges and you will receive the car at your door in max 12 days.I am a man of my word and I will promise to do this deal safe. I am not trying to be difficult; I am trying to run this deal legitimately and smoothly.
I know that it's a large sum of money to just be sending blindly.
No funds exchange hands until you inspect the car.
Because of the nature and value of the vehicle being sold, I request that the amount of $4,800US to be paid to an eBay agent and after 15 days inspection period of the car, the money will be released to me. The transaction will be fully under eBay surveillance, giving both security and insurance that nothing will go wrong. They are acting like a third party in this deal.
I will have eBay to contact you to start the official procedure for our deal but I have need your full name and address for shipping and as soon as I have this details I will inform eBay about our deal and they will notify you with the payment instructions.
I will be waiting for your fast email in case that you are ready to buy it.
Looking forward to doing business!
Regards,
Stanley
--------------------------------------------
On 7/13/08, Kevin <******@yahoo.com> wrote:
Thanks for replying, but that kinda answers my questions but not about all the items inside the car. I see four LCD screens and it's not mentioned at all in your description, you can strip those and all the other modifications and interior you did not list for all I know, it looks like you have custom headers and a fuel rail maybe, and an external waste gate. I would like more details about that because I am very cautious in what I buy I don't like to be ripped off, if you are selling all of what is in that picture than I am very interested, it's just tough to trust anyone on ebay. Thank you again for replying and hope to see another one soon!
----------------------------------------------
--- On Sat, 7/12/08, Stanley <*******@gmail.com> wrote:
From: Stanley <*****@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: Your Eclipse
To: *******@yahoo.com
Date: Saturday, July 12, 2008, 8:09 PM
Hello Kevin, Thank you for your interest in my 1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX, manual transmission, white,89,400 miles.The car is in excellent condition ; the body and paint are great, no scratches and no dents; the interior is clean; it has never been involved in an accident. My wife was recently promoted and I'm am currently stationed in Lisboa,Portugal. And the car is here with me. It was bought in the US and shipped to Europe, but it was never permanently registered here, the car is still registered in the US. The car is for sale locally as well, but there are slim chances of this to happen. In order to be able to register this car here in Lisboa,Portugal the buyer would have to pay very high import/custom taxes that will double the price. So I decided to sell the car back in the US.
As I'm unable to travel in the near future and I don't have anyone back home to help me with the sale I decided to make this transaction through eBay.So how this actually works? Simple: the buyer sends the payment to eBay and they hold the money until the car is delivered; I ship the car to US; I get my money only after the buyer receives the car and makes sure everything is as agreed. I believe this protects both buyer and seller and it's the right way to do this. The final price is $4,800US including shipping from Europe to the US and delivery to your home address.So if you decide to buy my car or need further information please get back to me as soon as possible.Thank you and have a great day,
Stanley ******@gmail.com
On 7/12/08, Kevin <*****@yahoo.com> wrote:
Hello, I'm from Huntington Beach, California and I was considering to buy your car. I was checking it out and I am very curious on why it is so cheap for that kind of car, all those modifications all for only $4800? If I do happen to buy it, does it come with alll that? I know all those modifications are expensive, and I do not want to get ripped off in some way. Also, it only has 36,200 miles used on it? is it not running or something, the first idea I got is that there is something wrong with the car. If you have the chance please email me back about more details of the car because I was really considering in it, it is a mighty fine piece of work. Why do you want to sell it? I'd like to talk more about it with you, thank you.
-Kevin
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
If you read all of that you kinda get the idea, he seems like a pretty reliable person and basically what he said that he will ship the car to my address so I can inspect while my money is in transaction on ebay. Than again he could be a scam artist and I never dealt with any of them, there might be a possible way he gets my money while it is transacting and he never sends the car, I talked to my cousin again after I showed him the email conversation and he said there is still a risk of him scamming me when he "ships it over" to me, he also says I shouldn't mess with already modified cars and I should just get a stock.
In summary, I don't know whether I'm dealing with a scammer or not or if I should continue to go through with this, it's my dream car and would love to have it, but for such a low price you would think there is something wrong with it, but he said it wasn't involved in any accidents or other problems. I didn't know where else to go to look for help I was hoping maybe some of you guys can help me out, I would ask my dad to see what he says but he doesn't really want me to buy a 2nd car yet even though it's my money. Hopefully some of you guys took the time and were able to study my situation, sorry I made it so long and thank you!