Mitsubishi Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone-

I am having a hard time finding a forum that talks about newer Monteros. I wanted to know/find the procedure for replacing my spark plugs. I see that the plenum needs to be removed and just wanted to try and find a guide to the process. If anyone has insight, it's really appreciated!

Thanks!
Jack
Palatine, IL

·
Registered
2 Posts
:) Hi, I'm new to this too. But anyway here are the steps for removing the pelnum:
Step 1- Ignition coil
2- Ignition power transistor
3- EGR valve
4- EGR gasket
5- Manifold differential presure sensor
6- EGR pipe
7- EGR pipe gasket
8- Intake manifold plenum stay
9- Water outlet fitting bracket
10- Throttle body
11- Throttle body gasket
12- Air intake fitting
13- Air intake fitting gasket
14- Water pump bracket
15- Upper intake manifold
16- Intake manifold plenum gasket

Installation is of course the reverse of the removal. Pay attension to the lenght and size of the bolts as to where you remove it from for you will have to install it back to the exact place where you removed it from. You will have to replace the intake manifold plenum gasket (step 16), and also the intake fitting gasket (step 13). You will need two (2) torque wrenches, in. lbs and ft. lbs unless you know the conversion formula.

Torque for bolts:
Step 1- 100 in. lbs
3- 16 ft. lbs
5- 43 in. lbs
6- 13 ft. lbs
nut- 43 ft. lbs
8- front= 26 ft. lbs
rear= 13 ft. lbs
9- 14 ft.lbs
10- 100 in.lbs
12 & 15 All bolts= 13 ft. lbs
14- front=17 ft. lbs
rear= 13 ft. lbs

Hope this will help you.

Joey

·
Registered
8 Posts
I have an '02 Montero and it looks as if I have to do the same thing. On a scale of 1 to 10, what is the actual complexity of this? I have done valve cover gaskets on older cars, and other more involved repairs.

I also cannot believe this is the procedure for changing spark plugs. I used to do it every year, but this seems a bit much.