Mitsubishi Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, guys. I'm pretty new to cars and modifying in general, but a buddy and myself recently got a Cold Air Intake for my 2003 OZ Rally. It was one of the cheapo ones off of eBay, but I've read elsewhere that cheap intakes shouldnt be a problem.

But, guess what?! It IS!

I am almost positive I've installed it correctly. I have tried different methods of installation as well. At first, I had the original kit in, and the Lancer worked fine, except for the fact that it didnt idle correctly. Instead of sitting at 500 to like, 750 rpm, it would sit at about 750, drop below 500, and continue to fluctuate. If I didnt give it gas, it would eventually stall out. Say, at a long stop light or something.

But, since that aggrivated me, my buddy and I decided to fool around with the intake again. Instead of having the filter down in the wheel well, so close to the ground, we bought new pipes for it and set it so that the Air filter sat just under the Battery. We figured the air would have less distance to travel, and therefore, be better. Wrong, I guess. When we fired it up, it immediately stalled out. I tried to just give it plenty of gas and get it going, but when I would hold the gas pedal in, the engine would rev up to 3000RPM, and then just go back down, and keep spiking like that.

Now, I've read that it could be the ECU, and I -DID- pull the negative cable on the battery for five minutes and hooked it back up so that the ECU could learn the part, but it still isnt working. I plan on trying to set it up as a shortram today, with just the pipe from the throttle assy going to the MAF, and then stick the filter on the end of that.

If anybody can give me good directions on how exactly I should install it, or if anybody has any ideas as to what is going wrong, PLEASE ASSIST!

Thanks. =D