Mitsubishi Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all Lancer fans or afficionados, or experts

i have a 2004 Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback which i adore, it takes us everywhere in delight - my dog loves to chew the trunk/boot -- it runs great for my needs, and i enjoy it quite a bit

but the fan (i believe) is running a lot, it makes that noise as if trying to cool the car down, way more than necessary, it has increased over the past months
the temp gauge is normal,
radiator has enough water
nothing else seem to be the matter
i am not a car expert at all, am a virologist of all things, so am perplexed, and before i take it to a shop wanted to know of any known fan/computer malfunctions linked to the fan and the model

my boyfriend says they wont see it at the shop and it will cost us money for nothing

another question, where can i find the technical manual for this car telling me what Preventive Maintenance schedule i should follow

thanks a lot for any help or information you may want to share with us

in san francisco, the whacko family

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
:00000732:

I try not to diagnose car problems over the internet, and I'm not a mechanic. If it were my car I would probably check the thermostat.

The best bet is to take it to a mechanic. A good mechanic will be honest with you and not rip you off. There may be a diagnosis fee, which is fair because time is money. It should be more than a half hour.

As far as preventative maintenance is concerned, the owner's manual comes with a maintenance manual. If you don't plan on doing the maintenance yourself, this will suffice.

If you plan to do your own maintenance, get a subscription to www.alldatadiy.com

Hope that helps.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks a lot M for your time and attention on my question

i wanted to check whether or not there was a known defect with that model --

have a great day

Xandra

·
Registered
1 Posts