Mitsubishi Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I brought a Mitsubishi Space Star 1.8 GDI petrol car second hand about 6 months ago. The previous owner told me about the problem, that it stalls when driving sometimes.

I noticed the car sometimes rev's eractically when stationary without me touching anything. My car often stalls braking towards traffic lights, going into round abouts or sometimes when stationary. Sometimes I can go a hole journey without 1 stall, sometimes I will stall 10-15 times. I have noticed that if I put the clutch in and whack it in neutral as I brake to a stop it very rarely stalls, and when stationary it only seems to happen when the cars in 1st gear even with the cluth in. Also having air conditioning/blowers/radio/lights on makes a difference, when I turn them on when the engine is idle the revs will drop then suddenly have a little burst.

Im no mechanic or expert but it does become a bit dangerous sometimes, It cut out at 40mph braking for a roundabout that joins a motorway and the steering goes heavy along with the brakes. Some people seem to think the timer is messed up but im not so sure it's the timer, any suggestions would be great. I don't plan on fixing it myself unless its really simple but I would like some advice so I dont get charged loads at a garage for something that won't change it.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi,

i bought a 2000 GDI Spacestar and after 24 months motoring the stalling got steadily worse. After several visits to a local garage, they finally contacted Mitsubishi who said i should take the car in.