Mitsubishi Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2003 Mitusbishi Lancer OZ Rally (5-spd Manual). When I'm driving I get this knocking sound (which I can only describe as the sound from the pod racers in star wars episode 1) that seems to come from just in front of the dash, pretty much in the engine compartment. I can hear it happen when I just let off of the clutch, and it seems to respond to the speed of the car. That is the faster the car is going the quicker it knocks. If i'm pressing on the gas or break or if i push in the clutch all the way i'll get the sound. I don't seem to get the sound if I'm in reverse though.

The clutch only has about 2,000 miles on it, and although i'm new to driving manual i've been told my driving is not harmful to the clutch.

there's also squeaking when i steer at very low speed, i'm thinking this might be the tie rod ends or something of that sort. but as well i need new springs (they squeak badly) so i'm not ruling that out.

can anyone help me out with this? anyone know what the knocking sound is? my check engine light has come on, but it's the warm cat/o2 sensor from what my scan tool has told me and what i've read on this site.

·
Registered
168 Posts
what you're hearing is when combustion of the air/fuel mixture in the cylinder starts off correctly in response to ignition by the spark plug, but one or more pockets of air/fuel mixture explode outside the envelope of the normal combustion front.

...which is why the faster you are accelerating, the faster it occurs... its your engine. I would suggest a higher grade fuel to start, but if its the lancer, it should only need 87. The difference in the octane rating just measures how easily the fuel can be compressed (aka compression ratio).

idk if this would help... but a new PCV valve?
anyone want to confirm this?

hope that helps

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·