Mitsubishi Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was changing rear brake and rotors. I must have not put the car in correct service mode. rear piston is extended and will not retract. leaking small amount of brake fluid. I have put the tire and caliper back on but left rotor off because of no room for pads. Until I can find the correct plan of action. Do I need to buy a new rear caliper? Do off brank work? Can I try to repair this one? Im a novice and trying to avoid more damage to my situation. Any advise is well welcomed

Attachments

·
Administrator
2021 MR Triton
665 Posts
you will likely need a new caliper. the drive gear is quite strong, but if you try to push piston back in whilst not in service mode you will destroy the mechanism

·
Registered
4 Posts
I had th
I was changing rear brake and rotors. I must have not put the car in correct service mode. rear piston is extended and will not retract. leaking small amount of brake fluid. I have put the tire and caliper back on but left rotor off because of no room for pads. Until I can find the correct plan of action. Do I need to buy a new rear caliper? Do off brank work? Can I try to repair this one? Im a novice and trying to avoid more damage to my situation. Any advise is well
I was changing rear brake and rotors. I must have not put the car in correct service mode. rear piston is extended and will not retract. leaking small amount of brake fluid. I have put the tire and caliper back on but left rotor off because of no room for pads. Until I can find the correct plan of action. Do I need to buy a new rear caliper? Do off brank work? Can I try to repair this one? Im a novice and trying to avoid more damage to my situation. Any advise is well welcomed
This video was a tremendous help to me. I tried to do the same thing.

·
Registered
3 Posts