Mitsubishi Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i hear a noise almost like a belt whining or a wheel screaming at me once im over 25 mph... im not much of a mechanic,,, just know my electrical stuff, but could it be a belt or a bearing in my front right wheel??

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
a "belt whining" type sound that occurs usually after driving about 10-15 minutes is due to a failing propshaft bearing.

Ill bet you have an all wheel drive endeavor, from 04 or early 05, correct? and the noise only appears after you've driven a while?

if so, you will need to have the entire propshaft replaced. its more than likely still under warranty. If you give me your V.I.N., I can tell you for sure.
but dont give me the number if you're nervous about the internet, as it will divulge to me your address, and car specs.

having said that, im not a serial killer, nor stalker.. so you dont have to worry about me (im a mitsu mechanic of 15 years).

·
Registered
69 Posts
I believe mine does the same thing but it's more of a high pitched whistle, and I haven't noticed any performance issues. How could I be sure of this as it is quite the hassle to have warranty work done since i am currently stationed in Germany. Mine is an XLS AWD manu date of OCT 03.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Mine is doing the same thing. I took it in to have it serviced, and they just tightened the belt. I got it home, and then had to run a few errands and it started doing it again! What can I tell them to make sure it gets fixed this time? I have an 04 LS AWD.

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
Originally posted by MitzytheMitzu@Jun 16 2006, 09:11 AM
Mine is doing the same thing. I took it in to have it serviced, and they just tightened the belt. I got it home, and then had to run a few errands and it started doing it again! What can I tell them to make sure it gets fixed this time? I have an 04 LS AWD.
[snapback]56847[/snapback]​